Some Results

A couple weeks ago began the first experiments, and they’ve been pretty successful. First I foraged a little, then I eventually planted a bunch of radish seeds. The radishes have been coming up pretty well, and I’ve got things going well in general.

My experiments with eating simply, cheaply, healthily and tastily have been going quite well as well. I’ve been making stir fries which are incredibly delicious, for about $1. At this rate I could easily eat all I need in a month for less than $100.

Over the weekend I took a ride to Des Moines on a whim and tried couchsurfing.org on the fly. I got a place to stay at the last minute, sitting at a coffee shop in downtown Des Moines. It was a success in cheap, spontaneous traveling. I only payed for some coffee and a meal at Java Joes (which, hopefully in the future I can get from a grocery store and make on the go). The place I stayed was very comfortable and safe, and the people were perfect hosts. Of course this is a gift economy I’ll have to return some time.

The following morning I visited my friend Robin, who had a baby a little over a month ago, and she made me a very simple meal of rice, beans, and tomatoes. She said it costs around $1.50. My friend Emily was planning on visiting Ames, and she brought me back home, where I partially came around with the couchsurfing, letting her stay on my couch.

This morning Emily brought me along to her friend Gary Guthrie’s farm, where I helped pick potatoes using a broadfork. He cooked us a delicious simple meal of sweet potato tortillas, and we were off. He offered to pay me, but I gladly took some sweet potatoes, carrots, and garlic instead. Emily returned to Des Moines, where she delivered some produce for Gary.

And now for my foraging adventure…
I didn’t want to overload the main page with pictures, so made a separate link.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Nitin! You are fabulous! I came across your blog cause I was reading Manisha’s… though she hasn’t posted in forever. I love your urban foraging. I do that sometimes… but not as hard-core. We have some great wild grapes that grow along the bicycle trail I brought home a couple weeks ago. Big seeds but still yummy.

    Reply

  2. Posted by nittyjee on October 8, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Wow. I didn’t know your were in the DRC. That’s amazing…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

